Skip to main content Sitemap Help Copyright Feedback Accessibility

Training and Development Agency for Schools
Advanced search

QTS standards and ITT requirements

The qualified teacher status (QTS) standards and initial teacher training (ITT) requirements that apply to all programmes commencing 1 September 2007 have been finalised.

These requirements are imposed by the Secretary of State under the Education (School Teachers' Qualifications) (England) Regulations 2003, made under sections 132, 145 and 210 of the Education Act 2002. They have the same legal standing as, and replace Qualifying to Teach. They set out:

  • the Secretary of State’s standards, which must be met by trainee teachers before they can be awarded qualified teacher status (QTS), and
  • the requirements for training providers and those who make recommendations for the award of QTS.

Only those trainee teachers who have met all of the standards will be awarded QTS.

These standards are relevant to anyone involved in initial teacher training (ITT) - trainee teachers, teacher training providers, qualified teachers and those who employ and support newly qualified teachers. They will apply to most trainee teachers. For exceptions see the transitional arrangements page.

Guidance to accompany the current QTS standards and ITT requirements is available for training providers and trainee teachers.

Download or order the hard copy version of the guidance from TDA publications library. The printed version of the guidance will not reflect regular updates and amendments made to the full interactive online version.

For enquiries regarding the QTS standards and ITT requirements e-mail:

Recently updated guidance

View a full list of updated guidance.