This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.

Publication summary

The following link will open in a new window.

Establishing Unitary Councils in April 2009: Lessons learnt (HTML format)

  • Departments: 

  • Communities and Local Government

Document type: 


Date of publication: 

6 January 2010


This paper highlights some key learning from the implementation of unitary structures in seven county areas on 1 April 2009. That process established nine new unitary councils: Bedford Borough Council, Central Bedfordshire Council, Cheshire East Borough Council, Cheshire West and Chester Borough Council, Cornwall Council, Durham County Council, Northumberland County Council, Shropshire Council and Wiltshire Council.

  • Subjects: 

  • Government and public administration; 
  • Regional policy

  • Regions: 

  • National; 
  • East Midlands; 
  • East of England; 
  • London; 
  • North East; 
  • North West; 
  • South East; 
  • South West; 
  • West Midlands; 
  • Yorkshire and The Humber

Quick search
  • Real Help Now

Popular on info4local