Publication summary

The following link will open in a new window.

Establishing Unitary Councils in April 2009: Lessons learnt (HTML format)

  • Departments: 

  • Communities and Local Government

Document type: 


Date of publication: 

6 January 2010


This paper highlights some key learning from the implementation of unitary structures in seven county areas on 1 April 2009. That process established nine new unitary councils: Bedford Borough Council, Central Bedfordshire Council, Cheshire East Borough Council, Cheshire West and Chester Borough Council, Cornwall Council, Durham County Council, Northumberland County Council, Shropshire Council and Wiltshire Council.

  • Subjects: 

  • Government and public administration; 
  • Regional policy

  • Regions: 

  • National; 
  • East Midlands; 
  • East of England; 
  • London; 
  • North East; 
  • North West; 
  • South East; 
  • South West; 
  • West Midlands; 
  • Yorkshire and The Humber

Quick search
  • Real Help Now

Popular on info4local