Skip to main content

DIUS Departmental Board

The Board provides the strategic leadership of the Department. This involves setting the Department's strategy and allocating resources, agreeing business plans and monitoring performance, enhancing Departmental capability and setting standards, values and controls.

The Board is chaired by the Permanent Secretary and meets on a monthly basis.

There are 4 non-Executive Directors on the Board to provide a non-Departmental perspective in decision-making. They provide an independent judgment on issues of strategy, planning, performance, and standards of conduct. Although they advise and question, they don't make executive decisions, and they remain independent of management, and free from any other relationships within government that might interfere with their role.

The Board's aims are to

  • Ensure the organisation delivers the Strategic Priorities and service delivery targets
  • Ensure effective allocation and management of resources, in line with the Strategic Priorities
  • Communicate DIUS' purpose, Strategic Priorities and vision to staff and other stakeholders
  • Monitor and improve Departmental performance internally and across Whitehall
  • Protect and enhance DIUS' reputation for professionalism, innovation, effectiveness, integrity and efficiency

Executive Board Members

Ian WatmorePermanent Secretary
Ian Watmore
Prof John BeddingtonGovernment Chief Scientific Adviser
Prof John Beddington
Alun EvansInterim Director General, Science and Research
Alun Evans
Ruth ThompsonDirector General, Higher Education
Ruth Thompson
stephenmarstonDirector General, FE and Skills
Stephen Marston
David EvansDirector of Innovation
David Evans
Simon MorysDirector of Operations
Simon Morys
Zina EtheridgeDirector of Strategy & Communications
Zina Etheridge
Nick EdmondsDirector of Finance and Performance
Nick Edmonds
Shirley PointerDirector of HR and Shared Services
Shirley Pointer

Non Executive Board Members

Local Navigation