This snapshot, taken on
05/06/2013
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
 
 
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.

HMRC Completes East Midlands, North East and Yorkshire & Humberside Accommodation Reviews

HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) is today, Wednesday 17 October 2007, publishing the outcome of a review of its occupation of buildings within urban centres in the East Midlands, North East and Yorkshire & Humberside Regions. This is the latest in a nationwide series of reviews on the future shape of the department.

HMRC was created in April 2005 following the merger of the former Inland Revenue and HM Customs & Excise, providing the opportunity to create a modern, effective revenue collection and enforcement department.

The Regional Review Programme is designed to support HMRC plans to modernise and transform its operations by matching work, offices and accommodation needs throughout the UK. The programme of reviews began in November 2006 and will continue beyond April 2008.

It is not expected that HMRC will begin to vacate any premises until early 2008 but some work and staff may move ahead of this date.

Mike Hanson, HMRC Director General responsible for the programme, said:

"These decisions are the latest to emerge from a nationwide series of reviews designed to create the future shape of the department. In arriving at them, we've engaged widely with Trades Unions, MPs, local authorities and a range of customer groups as well as with our own employees. Their feedback, together with feasibility studies carried out by our professional estates and IT partners, have given us a robust basis for the conclusions being announced today."

Round-up of the decisions in each urban centre

East Midlands Region: Northampton

Two buildings, Northgate House and Princess House in Northampton will house the department's future operations in the area. The other four offices are to be vacated beginning in autumn 2008. Enquiry Centres will remain in, or near, their current locations. The Enquiry Centre currently provided at Cytringan House, Kettering will move to Montagu Court.

In the proposals published in January 2007 we planned to retain Beaumont House in Northampton. We now intend to vacate this site over time and relocate all staff to Northgate House and Princess House by 2011.

The buildings being retained are:

  • Northgate House, Sheep Street, Northampton
  • Princess House, Cliftonville, Northampton

Buildings to be vacated are:

  • Beaumont House, Cliftonville, Northampton
  • Christchurch House, 1-7 The Embankment, Wellingborough
  • Cytringan House, Robinson Way, Kettering
  • Montagu Court, Kettering Parkway, Kettering (with the exception of the new Enquiry Centre services)

Although moves of staff are expected to begin from autumn 2008, we do not expect to fully vacate these buildings until 2011. Impact Assessments are published for buildings when we are within 12 to 18 months of full vacation. There are no Impact Assessments currently published for the Northampton buildings.

East Midlands Region: Nottingham/Derby and Leicester

The Castle Meadow Campus in Nottingham, Northgate House, Derby and East Midlands Airport, Castle Donnington, along with City Gate House and Saxon House in Leicester will house the department's future operations in the area. The other eight offices are to be vacated on a phased basis beginning in spring 2008. Enquiry Centres will remain in, or near, their current locations.

In the proposals published in January 2007 we planned to withdraw from both Northgate House and St James House in Derby. We will now retain Northgate House, with some staff relocating there from other offices.

The buildings being retained are:

  • Castle Meadow Campus, Castle Meadow Road, Nottingham
  • City Gate House, St Margaret's Way, Leicester
  • East Midlands Airport, Castle Donnington
  • Northgate House, Agard Street, Derby
  • Saxon House, 1 Causeway Lane, Leicester

Buildings to be vacated from spring 2008 onwards:

  • Attenborough House, 109-119 Charles St, Leicester
  • Bowman House, 100-102 Talbot Street, Nottingham
  • Chaucer House, Commercial Street, Mansfield
  • Crown House, New Street, Burton-upon-Trent
  • Crown House, 50-52 Scalford Road, Melton Mowbray
  • Horsefair House, 35 King Street, Alfreton
  • Huntingdon Court, 90-94 Mansfield Road, Nottingham
  • St James House, Mansfield Road, Derby.

HMRC no longer has staff located in Enkalon House, 92 Regent Street, Leicester.

Impact Assessments have been published for those buildings we expect to fully vacate within the next 12 to 18 months.

North East Region: Middlesbrough/Stockton-on-Tees

Four buildings will house the department's future operations in this area, whilst three offices are to be vacated from spring 2008 onwards. Enquiry Centres will remain in, or near, their current location.

In the proposals published in March 2007 we planned to withdraw from 100 Russell Street in Middlesbrough. We will now retain this site and withdraw from Fountain Court, Middlesbrough instead.

The buildings being retained are:

  • Emerald Court, Brackenhill Business Park, Peterlee
  • Eustace House, Teesdock, Middlesbrough
  • George Stephenson House, Thornaby, Stockton-on-Tees
  • 100 Russell Street, Middlesbrough

Buildings to be vacated from spring 2008 onwards are:

  • Dunedin House, Teesdale Business Park, Stockton-on-Tees
  • Fountain Court, 119 Grange Road, Middlesbrough
  • Regent House, 10 Commercial Street, Darlington

Impact Assessments have been published for those buildings we intend to vacate within the next 12 to 18 months.

North East Region: Newcastle/Sunderland/Washington

Five buildings will house the department's future operations in this area, whilst 11 offices are to be vacated from early 2008 onwards. Enquiry Centres will remain in, or near, their current location.

In the proposals published in March 2007 we planned to withdraw from Dobson House in Newcastle-upon-Tyne. We will now retain some floors in Dobson House.

The buildings being retained are:

  • Benton Park View, Longbenton, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Dobson House, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Quorum, Balliol Business Park, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Waterside House, Sunderland Enterprise Park, Sunderland
  • Waterview Park, Mandarin Way, Washington

Buildings to be vacated from early 2008 onwards are:

  • Aiden House, All Saints Business Centre, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Back Riggs, Morpeth
  • Cale Cross House, 156 Pilgrim Street, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Cheviot House, Washington
  • Eagle Star House, Regent Centre, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Gilbridge House, High Street West, Sunderland
  • Shackleton House, Silksworth Row, Sunderland
  • Warwick House, Grantham Road, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Weardale House, Washington
  • Wycliffe House, Green Lane, Durham

Impact Assessments have been published for those buildings we intend to vacate within the next 12 to 18 months.

Yorkshire & Humberside Region: Leeds/Bradford/Shipley

Seven buildings will house the department's future operations in this area, whilst 13 offices are to be vacated from autumn 2008 onwards. Enquiry Centres will remain in, or near, their current location.

In the proposals published in January 2007 we planned to withdraw from 2 Victoria Avenue in Harrogate – we will now retain this office. We also proposed to retain Crown House in Shipley - we will now vacate this site.

The buildings being retained are:

  • Accounts Office, Victoria Street, Shipley
  • Castle House, 31 Lisbon Street, Leeds
  • Centenary Court, 1 St Blaise Way, Bradford
  • 1 Munroe Court, White Rose Office Park, Leeds
  • Peter Bennett House, Redvers Close, Leeds
  • No.1 The Interchange, 5 Nelson Street, Bradford
  • 2 Victoria Avenue, Harrogate.

Buildings to be vacated from autumn 2008 onwards are:

  • Cavendish House, Newmarket Street, Skipton
  • Century House, Church Lane, Pudsey, Leeds
  • Crown House, Southgate, Huddersfield
  • Crown House, Victoria Street, Shipley
  • Crown House, 127 Kirkgate, Wakefield
  • Dean Clough Mill, Dean Clough Industrial Estate, Halifax
  • Empire House, Wakefield Old Road, Dewsbury
  • Hockney House, Salt Mill Road, Shipley
  • Jefferson House, 27 Park Place, Leeds
  • Micklegate House, 4 Horsefair, Pontefract
  • Pennine House, Russell Street, Leeds
  • Worth House, Worth Way, Keighley
  • 6/8 Southgate House, Halifax.

Impact Assessments have been published for those buildings we intend to vacate within the next 12 to 18 months.

Yorkshire & Humberside Region: Sheffield

Four buildings will house the department's future operations in this area, whilst one office will be vacated around spring 2009.

In addition, Enquiry Centres will remain in their current location.

The buildings being retained are:

  • Concept House, Young Street, Sheffield
  • Joseph Locke House, Heelis Street, Barnsley
  • Markham House, Markham Road, Chesterfield
  • Old Town Hall, Effingham Street, Rotherham

The building to be vacated around spring 2009 is:

  • Dents Chambers, New Square, Chesterfield

An Impact Assessment has been published for this building.