HM Treasury

Financial services


Selected documents:

Regime list

Current Regime List: Iran (html)
Last updated: 27 October 2010


By the adoption of UNSCR 1737 (2006) on 23 December 2006, the United Nations, amongst other matters, introduced financial sanctions against those persons designated in the Annex to Resolution 1737 (2006), by the competent United Nations Sanctions Committee or by the UN Security Council as persons who engage in, directly associate with or provide support for Iran's proliferation sensitive nuclear activities or the development of nuclear weapon delivery systems, or persons or entities acting on their behalf or at their direction, or entities owned or controlled by them, including through illicit means.

On 19 April 2007, the EU adopted Council Regulation (EC) No 423/2007 which implemented the measures in UNSCR 1737 (2006) and also allowed for the European Council to apply restrictive measures to additional persons if deemed appropriate.

Selected documents

United Nations

back to top

European Union

UK legislation

back to top


Licence application forms

Prior notification/authorisation forms

Some documents on this page are available in Adobe Acrobat Portable Document Format (PDF). These documents will open in a new window. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat installed on your computer you can download the software free of charge from the Adobe website. For alternative ways to read PDF documents and further information on website accessibility visit the HM Treasury accessibility page.

Back to top