This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.

Sector Skills Councils

Sector Skills Councils (SSCs) are independent, employer led, UK wide organisations designed to build a skills system that is driven by employer demand.

There are 25 SSCs in total, licensed by the Government through the UK Commission for Employment and Skills (UKCES).The SSCs cover over 90% of the UK workforce representing the skills and training interests of small to large business.

SSCs aim to reduce skills gaps and shortages; improve productivity, business and public service performance; increase opportunities to boost the skills and productivity of everyone in the sector's workforce; and improved learning supply through National Occupational Standards, apprenticeships, and further and higher education.

Visit the SSCs section of the UKCES website >

Sector Skills Agreements

Sector Skills Agreements (SSAs) map out what skills employers need their workforce to have and how these skills will be supplied


More on SSAs >

National Skills Academies

National Skills Academies are employer led centres of excellence. They deliver the skills required by the economy contributing to world class competitiveness


More on National Skills Academies >