This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.

Department for Constitutional AffairsConstitution

| Constitution | Constitutional reform | House of Lords Reform | Devolution | Crown Dependencies | Royal & hereditary | City status | Lord Mayoralty & Lord Provostship | Lord Lieutenants | Remembrance Sunday

|© Crown Copyright & Disclaimer

Home > Constitution > Royal & hereditary > Lord Mayoralty & Lord Provostship > Seventeen applications received for Lord Mayoralties

Seventeen applications received for Lord Mayoralties

25 October 2001

Seventeen applications have been received for grant of a Lord Mayoralty to mark Her Majesty the Queen's Golden Jubilee.

The competition for grant of a Lord Mayoralty was launched on 25 July, with a closing date of 12 October. Permission to use the title Lord Mayor is an honour granted to cities by personal Command of The Queen, on the advice of Ministers, as a mark of special distinction. The Lord Chancellor hopes to announce the results in the early months of next year. Applications from the following cities were received by the deadline and are now under consideration:

St Albans
St David's

The Lord Chancellor will be responsible for advising The Queen on the successful city, after consulting other Ministers as appropriate.

A Lord Mayoralty is not, and never has been, a right which can be claimed by a city fulfilling certain conditions. While there are no criteria for the grant of a Lord Mayoralty, Her Majesty has agreed that applications from cities of less than 10 years' standing are unlikely to succeed.

Other factors that will be taken into account when assessing the bids are whether the city has:

The grant of Lord Mayoralty is very sparingly bestowed - only 15 grants were made last century. The last grant was to Chester in 1992 to mark the 40th Anniversary of Her Majesty's Accession to the throne.





© Crown Copyright