Tessa Jowell to honour celebrated author, William Trevor

Culture Secretary Tessa Jowell is to present an honorary KBE to author William Trevor in recognition of his services to literature.

Having written his first novel in 1958, William Trevor is today considered amongst the best living Irish writers and an acknowledged master of the short story.  He has also adapted several of his own works for the stage, television and radio.

Mr Trevor has won numerous literary awards, including the Whitbread Prize for Fiction on three occasions, for The Children of Dynmouth (1976), Fools of Fortune (1983) and Felicia's Journey (1994).  In 1999 he received the David Cohen Literature Prize for a lifetime's achievement as a writer.  His latest novel, The Story of Lucy Gault, was short-listed for the 2002 Booker Prize for Fiction and recently, the Whitbread Prize once again. 

Mr Trevor has lived and worked in England since the 1950s. 

You are invited to send a photographer/ camera crew to cover the event.

Date: Wednesday 4 December 2002

Time: 6 pm

Venue: Department for Culture, Media and Sport, 2-4 Cockspur Street, London, SW1Y 5DH

Press Enquiries: 020 7211 6052/6277
Out of hours telephone pager no: 07699 751153
Public Enquiries: 020 7211 6200

Back to main

Back to top